These Boots Were Made For Walking

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Always Something There to Remind Me.”

Wow! Scrolling through old prompts, since I’m a newbie blogger, I came across this one and the very first song that came to my mind was Nancy Sinatra’s “These Boots Were Made For Walking”. The first time I ever heard it, when it hit the top of the charts, I was at a “grown-up” party (I was only 16) at a cousin’s home. When I hear that song I have a kaleidoscope of images in my head: dancing in the back yard in the dark, playing Spin the Bottle (aka Truth or Dare), my cousin losing and getting his face shaved by his blindfolded fiancée, so much laughter, and feeling so free as it was one night I was not under the abusive thumb of my stepfather. Those days and nights were rare and much valued.

2 thoughts on “These Boots Were Made For Walking

  1. In my time as a teen, Spin the Bottle and Truth or Dare were totally different games! Spin the Bottle was a kissing/makeout game, where whoever did the spinning had to kiss whoever it landed on.

    Truth or Dare was a game where you had to either make a confession or enact an action others proposed for you. I had no idea the two were once one and the same!

    Like

    • Knowng my memory, you’re probably right, especially since my cousin had to take a dare. Or they may have just decided to combine the two into one. I didn’t play the game, I only observed and laughed. I have absolutely no idea what secrets may have been shared that nigh.

      Liked by 1 person

Make my day; share your thoughts

