Invisible Illness

It’s that time of year when all the pollens and allergens that have hung around in the upper atmosphere due to high temperatures (at least that’s my theory) drop back into the lower atmosphere due to cooler temps to plague all of us. As I write this I am sitting here snuffling and aching with the sinus infection that is making the rounds. It’s only been five days since I got over a stomach bug making the rounds.

I get sick easily due to a weakened immune system. I have fibromyalgia, Sjogren’s Syndrome, hypothyroidism, and a few other issues that affect my autoimmune system. These are invisible illnesses that non-sufferers don’t understand. It is difficult to make plans and be active as I never know from one day to the next how I’m going to feel; I have missed countless birthday parties, baby or wedding showers and some family events because I get sick. I may go to bed feeling fine, but wake up feeling horrible and in pain or vice versa. Sometimes all it takes is a shift in the barometric pressure. I have a tendency to overdo things on the days when I feel good and I end up paying for it for several days. You’d think I would know better by now, but those days are rare, so I try to maximize what I carry out in those hours.

Tonight I came across a blog that shared an article from the Viral Factory that says so well what I wish family and friends knew and understood. If you have friends or family that suffer from an invisible illness, I urge you to read this article. I couldn’t say it any better. What I Wish Others Knew About Living With a Chronic Unseen Illness

Make my day; share your thoughts

