Criticism and Rising Strong

“We cannot selectively numb emotions, when we numb the painful emotions, we also numb the positive emotions.”
Brené Brown, The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are

The above quote speaks strongly to me as it will to many who read it. I have numbed painful emotions for more years than I care to count. And I have paid a high price in several ways.

Until an author friend recommended a new book titled “Rising Strong” by Brené Brown I knew nothing about her, had never heard her name. Brené is an author, researcher, social worker, and story-teller. Her website and reading the blurbs for “Rising Strong” piqued my interest but I still hesitated to buy any of her books. Mind you, I’m not the best at absorbing knowledge simply from reading. And when you have fibromyalgia, as I do, the attendant brain fog doesn’t help.

There are several videos on Brené’s website where she shares some of her information and writings. Two of them are TED talks on vulnerability and shame. Although I went to the links I didn’t follow through on listening right away, either because I was too distracted or, believe it or not, I was actually afraid of what emotions they might evoke in me. I also found the following item from her new book “Rising Strong” in the ‘Downloads’ section of her website.manifesto of the brave and strong-adj

WOW! How powerful is that?!? Included within this manifesto is a great part of the reason I started blogging, yet I’ve been hesitant to really share my story and my feelings, choosing instead to write about other things that catch my interest (I have a very busy mind) and that I think might also interest others. Sometimes I have so much running around in my head that I can’t decide what to write so I end up writing nothing. But I’ve also been too concerned about what others will think; will they agree, will they be upset, will they be repulsed, etc. This is a lifelong habit that I struggle with continually. {My self-talk obviously isn’t very convincing.}

When I shared about this hesitation and being concerned about what others think on the Blogging 201 Board in The Commons I got some sage advice from My Own Private Idaho. To wit: “Write for yourself and write from the heart and stay true to yourself and don’t lose sight of your original goal when you first started blogging regardless of what others might think say, or do. If you write for likes, follows, votes and popularity and cater to the readers demands, what’s the use? Don’t compare yourself with others. Everyone has their own strength and weaknesses and if you‘re good and authentic and believe with what you’re doing, people will come and stay.”

Today I decided to go to YouTube and check for other videos on Brené, something that would be inspirational. The video I’m posting below is about handling criticism. I realize at 22 minutes in length it might be longer than many people want to watch, but if you have ever doubted yourself because of criticism, either from others or from your own self-talk, you might find it interesting. If you do, I’m glad I shared; if you don’t, that’s okay.

For more information on Brené Brown or to download a copy of the manifesto for yourself, go to http://brenebrown.com.

One thought on “Criticism and Rising Strong

  1. I love Brene! The ticket is to love your story and every emotion/situation, is what makes you whole and human. I tried an exercise the other day that was really an eye opener. Look around you at everyone you know. Who’s life would you rather be living? Keep in mind, you get ALL of that person’s life. I hope you said “Nobody’s.” We need to see the perfection and unique path of our own life. We need to love what our physical and mental challenges are as part of our unique story. We need to love our story in all it’s messy human glory, the highs the lows and know there is a reason we are here, our purpose, comes from our story. That’s the game of life. The next game is to look at everyone around you and say to yourself, “That person is just like me, I am just like them.” Do this over and over, in short time it is profound.
    Lastly, one of my favorite quotes is “It’s none of my business what someone else thinks of me.” If you are living your truth, nothing anyone else thinks matters as we are all on our own journey and forming our own perceptions about the world and life based on our beliefs.

    Liked by 1 person

Make my day; share your thoughts

