Writing Prompt – Passive vs Active Voice (non-fiction)

The writing prompt challenge below came my way via finallyawriter. I hope I succeeded in meeting the criteria of the challenge. Care to give it a try? The writing prompt is as follows:

Below are three fairly generic passive phrases. Your goal is to make them active in a short scene, either fiction or non-fiction. You can choose one, two, or all three to play with, but you only have 100 words.

  1. [he/she/I] was devastated by […]
  2. [feeling] was experienced by […]
  3. [person/thing] was possessed by […]

One of the many jobs I held during the 1980s recession was that of market surveyor – one of those people with clipboards you try to ignore in the mall. While working in the atrium of a downtown mall I experienced one of the most frightening events of my life. I had all the seats filled with people taking the survey when we heard an explosion. Naturally, everybody scrambled for the nearest exit. Apparently, I was briefly possessed by the spirit of a high jumper; when a woman pushed a stroller into my path, I leapt over the stroller.

5 thoughts on “Writing Prompt – Passive vs Active Voice (non-fiction)

Make my day; share your thoughts

