Teen Idols

Boy, did today’s Daily Prompt of Teen Age Idol bring back some memories!

Davy Jones then and in 2010. He died of a massive heart attack in 2012.

Davy Jones then and in 2010. He died of a massive heart attack in 2012.

My first teen idol was Davy Jones of The Monkees (1966-1968) TV fame. The Beatles were big then, as was Elvis, but I could have cared less about them.  Davy Jones won my heart the first time he spoke on TV.  There was something about that British accent and he was just so darn cute!  Somewhere, I have a school picture with a note I wrote on the back intending to send it to Davy.  Although he was considerably older, and three inches shorter, that didn’t keep me from dreaming of meeting him. To this day, I sometimes get Last Train to Clarksville stuck in my head.

Bobby Sherman then and in 2013

Bobby Sherman then and in 2013

The Monkees were only off the air a few months when a new show titled Here Come the Brides, about three brothers working as lumberjacks. The handsome, blue-eyed, Bobby Sherman was the youngest of the brothers, Jeremy Bolt. [This was also the first show David Soul, best known for Starsky and Hutch, had a regular TV role.]  And he could sing. The show went off the air in 1970, the same year I graduated, but he recorded and toured for a couple of years before he left the public eye to become first an EMT and later a Los Angeles police officer. The earworm I still get from Bobby is Julie, Do Ya Love Me?.

I don’t know how many Tiger Beat magazines I talked my mother into buying for me those four years, but I do know none of them survived my scissors.  I wasn’t allowed to put anything on the walls, so I had a scrapbook I kept pictures in for years.

As to Elvis Presley — I finally went to a concert in 1974 but didn’t get why all the women were fighting over his sweaty towels and scarves. Although I adored Davy Jones and Bobby Sherman, and I wouldn’t have known what to say if I had met them, my adoration never went to the point that I would have “swooned” over them in person.

3 thoughts on “Teen Idols

Make my day; share your thoughts

