Anathema for SoCS and JusJoJan – 1/30/2016

Aging truly is anathema to me. I hate the way my body is falling apart, the way my faculties are fading, and the fact that a large part of society in America has little to no appreciation for senior citizens and their knowledge. For example: My brother-in-law is three years older than me, my sister three younger. Both of them, especially Mike, can work circles around the younger people at the store where they work. Yet their boss – TM, himself in his mid-50s, has been overheard stating that he wanted to “get rid of the old people.” He has done everything he can to try to make them leave, including cutting their hours and Mike’s salary (from salaried to hourly and he lost more than $6/hour). TM knows he doesn’t have any legal standing to fire either or both of them.

Okay, rant over. This is a stream of consciousness post and that’s what hit my mind first.

While I know how to use the word properly, I decided for the heck of it to see what the dictionary said about it. (Any time I Google something I can get lost in the stream of information if I’m not careful because of my curiosity.) The simple definition of anathema is a person or thing detested or loathed — such as garlic is anathema to vampires. Additional definitions are: a person or thing accursed or consigned to damnation or destruction [vampires again] or a formal ecclesiastical curse involving excommunication.

I discovered that anathema is also the name of a British rock band. After listening to some of their “music” on YouTube, that is something else that is anathema to me. Give me that old-fashioned rock and roll.

This post is part of SoCS and JusJoJan.

 

5 thoughts on “Anathema for SoCS and JusJoJan – 1/30/2016

  1. Good post! Yes it can be frustrating at times, but consider the alternative of turning old, that is what I tell myself! 🙂 And I hope the boss has some sense knocked into him and realizes that age doesn’t describe what kind of worker you are! LOL about the British Rock band, I am sure I would probably feel the same way!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Age is something that only the lucky ones and blessed ones get to experience. I understand your feelings and at times I wonder if those who feel that they are young today realise that it’s a process that will meet them as well.

    Like

Make my day; share your thoughts

