SoCS – This, That and T’other

This last week threw a variety of life happenings at me. Nothing serious, but nothing fun, either.

I’m beginning to wonder if I’ve developed a late-in-life allergy to pork. We had bacon-wrapped pork filets one night and smothered pork steaks another. Both times I was sick the next day as if I had a stomach bug. And I am not going to be happy if I’ve developed an allergy to pork. It’s not so much that I love bacon—like the rest of the world, apparently, judging from the increasing number of bacon-wrapped [any meat, vegetable or fruit] recipes. I simply prefer pork to beef, except for ground beef.

Thursday and Friday I was laid low with the worst migraine I’ve had in years. It was one of those that makes you understand why they are called “sick headaches” because in addition to light and sound sensitivities, you have severe nausea to the point it’s hard to keep any food down.

I woke up this morning feeling like a whole new woman, but I had to go to yet another doctor. This time it was an appointment set by Social Security for my disability application. Yeah, on a Saturday. It’s some kind of special setup the SSA has with this doctor and Saturday is the only day he does them. At least I didn’t have to pay for the visit—if you don’t count the cost of the transport service—so that was a good thing. I still have to get a couple of x-rays this coming week for it.

After being out of things for a couple of weeks (and we still don’t know what was wrong), I’ve tried to catch up with everything in the community, but I think I’ve finally figured out that will be impossible. I just need to concentrate on getting back to blogging regularly, including the flash fiction challenges. I have the most fun stretching my skills with the flash fiction challenges.

*SIGH* I guess I should also get cracking on planning my posts for the AtoZ Blogger’s Challenge. I haven’t figured out if I want to follow a theme or just wing it.

 

socs-badge-2015Stream of Consciousness Saturday is hosted by Linda G Hill

8 thoughts on “SoCS – This, That and T’other

  1. Yes, I ate sausages the other night, but I am baffled by most of this world’s obsession with bacon, like the candy coated bacon I mistakenly tried and promptly felt like throwing up a few weeks ago.
    Sounds like a bit of a rotten week for you. Hoping for better weeks for you ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hope this week turns out better for you!! So sorry at how sick you got after the pork! Hope you aren’t developing a allergy! I understand about migraines! I have dealt with them and yes they are very debilatating! GL with your application. Sometimes paperwork can be such a hassle! I say just wing it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. I’m hoping my decision to work with an attorney from the beginning with make the process smoother. It sucks that she’ll get 25%, but it will be worth it in the long run.

      Like

Make my day; share your thoughts

