I Got a Liebster Award

My thanks to Spartacus2030 from My Opinionsville for nominating me for a Liebster Award. Go there to read the rules if I have nominated you for one in the list below.
My apologies also for being so long in responding. For some reason Akismet put it in my spam and I only found it when doing some cleanup after the AtoZ Challenge ended.

This is actually my second nomination (sadly I don’t remember who nominated me the first time), but I was such a newbie the first time I had no idea what I was doing, much less what to say. I’ve got some better footing now, so let’s see if I can write something that makes sense.

Eleven random facts about myself
  1.  I’m the oldest of seven children.
  2.  If I had to choose one food to eat for 30 days, it would be ground beef.
  3. I quit smoking for 11 1/2 years and started again. This time I have been smoke-free for 12 years.
  4. Ugh! I’m going on Medicare this year.
  5. I prefer summer to winter. I don’t like having to bundle up; it makes me feel claustrophobic.
  6. I worked for eight years as a secretary for a black United Methodist Church. I was the only white secretary they ever hired.
  7. I worked third shift for so many years with the US Postal Service that I still am a night owl. But then again, morning never was my best time.
  8. I love animals, especially cats. If I had a house with a big yard I would have at least two dogs and a run for the cat(s)
  9. I have a very curious mind and it’s constantly moving so it is sometimes difficult for me to concentrate.
  10. When my time on this earth is done, I want to be cremated and my ashes given to an organization that uses them in artificial reefs.
  11. I once was invited to join a women’s barbershop quartet but I declined because I was scared.
Eleven Questions From My Nominator
  1.  Describe the happiest moment in your life. Hmmmm. That would have to be the birth of my last niece. She was the only one of all my nieces and nephews I was able to be bond with from day one as I had lived away when all the others were born. I call her “my heart”. She’s a teenager now so she doesn’t get as excited to see me now as she once did.
  2.  Describe the most fearful moment in your life. I was on my own for the first time and, after getting into a fight with my date, foolishly accepted a ride from two men I had met that night at the bar. On a bet between them, one tried to rape me. My satisfaction is that he didn’t succeed and I left my mark on his face.
  3.  Name three movies you would watch a second time. Somewhere in Time, Ghost, and Roadhouse. Yeah, I have a thing for Patrick Swayze.
  4.  If you could be any animal on Earth, what one would you be, and why? A jaguar, because of it’s speed and strength, plus it’s a cat.
  5.  What is the worst job or task you’ve ever had to do? Intake Coordinator for a mental health clinic. I ended up quitting within three months because I was just too empathetic and I couldn’t take hearing the stories any longer.
  6.  Make three wishes. Enough money to live comfortably and not have to worry; an end to terrorism; an end to animal cruelty
  7.  What would you do with 1 million dollars? After paying my own bills, give portions to my family for their needs, and give at least 1/4 to my favorite charities.
  8.  What is your favorite food? Only one? Chicken and dumplings.
  9.  If you could start again, what career would you choose, and why? I would choose forensics because I would be challenged by the constant changes in the science and would be helping to solve crimes.
  10.  What country would you visit and why? Ireland; I fell in love with it through Nora Roberts’ books and have just always felt drawn there as if it’s in my blood.
  11.  What’s your favorite fragrance? Sand and Sable if you mean a branded fragrance, otherwise it’s the smell of a newly bathed and powdered baby.
I Nominate These Eleven Bloggers
  1.  What Sandra Thinks
  2.  Mind and Life Matters
  3.  Alyssa from Dear LilyJune
  4.  Sarah Zama from The Old Shelter
  5.  Joy from Beautiful Words
  6.  Diary of an Internet Nobody
  7.  Marquessa Matthews from Simply Marquessa
  8.  Debbie from My Random Musings
  9.  The Return of the Modern Philosopher
  10.  Shades of Grace
  11.  Fictional Kevin
Eleven Questions for You
  1.  If you could go back in time and change ONE thing, what would it be?
  2.  What country would you most like to visit and why?
  3.  Name your three favorite songs/music videos.
  4.  If you were part of a circus, what would you be and why?
  5.  Your friend has used two of three wishes and offers you the last one. What would it be?
  6.  Given the opportunity, what would you change about your appearance?
  7.  Could you live in a cabin on a lake for 30 days without any electronic technology or the internet?
  8.  You’re spending the weekend on a yacht and can only bring 4 things. What would they be?
  9.  Do you prefer living in a house, condo or apartment? Why?
  10.  What is your favorite season? Why?
  11.  What is your favorite fair or amusement park ride/attraction?

Those who fulfill the conditions of the award may take their choice between either of these two award logos.  And remember, these things are meant to be enjoyed!  Liebster is a German word with several definitions: dearest, sweetest, kindest, nicest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, welcome, sweetheart and boyfriend (really?)

_0_A Liebster Award2

_0_A Liebster Award

3 thoughts on “I Got a Liebster Award

  1. Pingback: Liebster Award - July 2016 - The Old Shelter

  2. Oh gosh, Barb, thanks so much for thinking of me.
    Actually, I’m going to post a Liebster Award I was given during the Challenge and I’m nominating you too, so you’re warned (and I swear I was going to do it anyway 😉 )
    I hope you don’t mind if I’ll reply to your award further on, probably in June.

    Thank you so so much. an award from a fellow bloggers is always such a fantastic reward 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Make my day; share your thoughts

