FFftPP #23 – Down by the River

FFftPP #23 alligators

“I am so tired of being cooped up because of all the rain,” Joanie said. “It feels good to get outside and get some fresh air.”

“I agree, but I don’t understand why you brought that gun. I thought you hated guns.” Sissy stated.

“I do hate guns, but with all the flooding, there’ve been more gator sightings than normal. I’m not willing to take any chances.”

“Sugar, I can run faster than any old gator. Besides, you’d probably be lucky to hit the broad side of a barn.”

The two women were in no hurry; it was a beautiful day. Sissy had turned around to look at something behind them when Joanie suddenly fired several shots. Sissy shrieked and whirled around. “Why did you do that!?”

“Look.” Joanie nodded toward the river’s edge where the tail of an alligator was disappearing into the water.

“Phew! At least you scared him off!” Then Sissy saw the dead one, shot through the eye, not two feet in front of her. With a quavering voice, she asked, “H-h-how did you manage to kill that thing?”

“I’ve practiced so much, it was instinct. I just let the bullets go and trusted my aim.”

4 thoughts on “FFftPP #23 – Down by the River

  1. It’s true that alligators can run quickly on land but I can speak from personal experience when I say that if a gator is chasing you, a human can also find the motivation to move pretty darn quickly. Good thing for Sissy that Joanie turned out to be a good shot. Good story.

    Liked by 1 person

Make my day; share your thoughts

