SoCS – My Book Addiction

Eeeep! Where did the day go? I swear I sat down several hours ago with the intent of writing a post for this week’s SoCS, but it doesn’t take much to get me distracted. In this particular instance, I checked my email first. Among the newest batch was a notice from the library about new and upcoming eBooks for checkout. That’s all it took. I was off on a tour to decide what I wanted to put on hold and looking for books to check out. As if I don’t have anything at all to read!

I’ve been a lover of words and books since the first time my mother took me to a library when I was about six. I can still be quite happy sitting for hours in a library gathering and perusing books I might want to check out. Come to think of it, I used to do the same at Barnes and Noble before deciding on a purchase. Before I started driving, I always carried a book for reading on the bus. Nowadays, I make sure to have one with me when going to doctor’s appointments, usually in electronic form.

Before I started driving, I always carried a book for reading on the bus. Nowadays, I make sure to have one with me when going to doctor’s appointments, usually in electronic form.

When I first heard of audiobooks, I discounted them because I couldn’t imagine getting any pleasure out of a book narrated by somebody else. Many years later, I went to work for the USPS doing data entry which was very routine and we were allowed to listen to music, podcasts, or books while working. Listening to music was out for me because my fingers wanted to move in time with the music so I decided to try audiobooks. I was pleasantly surprised to find that, with the right narrator, they really helped pass the time. And they were definitely a big help when traveling back and forth between Kansas and Texas. Now that I’m retired and don’t travel, I don’t listen to audiobooks. I can’t sit still long enough.

I also resisted getting an eReader for a very long time. In fact, it was only about 4 years ago that I finally caved in and bought myself a Kindle. Now I have more books residing on that electronic device than I will ever get around to reading, yet I seem to keep adding more. Many are free or very, very cheap so it doesn’t bother me so much when one of them turns out to be a super dud.

An eReader will never replace physical books in my life, just be an adjunct to my reading habits. Like all true book addicts, though, there will never be enough time to read all the books I own or want to read. Does that stop me from buying or borrowing more? Nope, nada, ain’t gonna happen.


socs-badge-2015

Written in response to this week’s SoCS prompt – book. Thank you Linda G Hill for providing the prompt.

 

2 thoughts on “SoCS – My Book Addiction

Make my day; share your thoughts

