Do You Remember? – The Monkees

I was madly in love with Davy Jones from the first time I saw the show in 1966. Some of their old songs, such as Last Train to Clarksville or Daydream Believer are still songs that lift my heart and bring back memories when I hear them. And while I was never an overly avid groupie of any star or musician, something about this particular band lifted my heart. I followed any news stories that popped up over the years about them, especially about Davy.

However, I thought I was going to get to meet Mike Nesmith a few years later. Mike is a native of Houston and we lived in nearby Pasadena. His cousin hired me to babysit several times. Unfortunately, when Mike was in town they always met him at a restaurant or club. Rats!

There are very few celebrity deaths that make me mourn almost as if I had lost a loved one—I was only saddened when Elvis died, but wept when John Wayne passed, but the untimely death of Davy Jones from a heart attack in 2012 was one of those times. It’s nice to see that Mike, Mickey, and Peter still remember and honor their friend, even bringing him on tour with them in a way.

9 thoughts on “Do You Remember? – The Monkees

  1. My mother used to be so embarrassed by her freckles as a young girl. Then, in an interview, Davy Jones said he thought freckles were the most attractive feature on a woman. That small comment made my mother feel beautiful, and I’ll always love Davy Jones for that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a second-generation Monkeemaniac, having loved the band since the ’86 revival when I was six years old. Davy was my favorite, though if I’d been older when I’d gotten into the band, I probably would’ve chosen Peter or Mike as my favorite. I have an old stuffed red tabby named Davy, whom my late grandma made in 1987 or 1988. Davy is my Velveteen Rabbit, while his twin sister Davina is still as plump and vibrant as the day she was made. It was such a shock when Davy passed away, similar to the shock and grief I went through when John Entwistle passed in June 2002. I still can’t believe Davy is in the other world, and that he was the first to go.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. On February 19, 2012, my husband collided with a deer while riding his motorcycle home from work. He sustained life-threatening injuries, so, when he was released from the hospital on Leap Day, still in great pain from 8 broken ribs, I felt blessed.

    Then I heard that Davy had died, and i didn’t know what to think.

    I was born in 1969, so I missed the Monkees when they were new. But MTV played reruns in the 80s, and I fell in love – with the boys, and their music. My own children, born in a different century, know some of the music well. On a recent road trip, my then 13-year old son, listening to the Monkees’ Theme on my anthology disk, said, “This ought to be a TV show!”

    I’m looking forward to a time when he’d like to watch with me. He even looks rather like Mickey, if Mickey’s curls were blonde.

    I loved the interview, and watched with tears, smiles, and laughter, which seems about perfect. I’d be honored if you’d allow me to reblog this post.

    And thank you so much for the magic! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Make my day; share your thoughts

