Beneath the Fog

I know I’ve been absent for a few weeks. Just as I was coming out of the previous funk, I got overwhelmed by recent events – especially the shootings by police and of police in the U.S. I wanted to write my thoughts about the shootings, but I didn’t want to write out of pure emotion as so many did so I started looking up statistics. That was the wrong thing to do as I ended up getting so  flooded with information my mind seemed to freeze, and ultimately i did nothing, even the flash fiction. I also avoided news stories on TV and online for a week because i wasn’t in a place to bear hearing any more stories about shootings, bombings, and mass killings. If I ever find myself in that situation again, I hope I remember to just sit down and start writing, knowing that my thoughts will sort themselves out as I write.

Currently, I’m trying to catch up on all the email notices of posts that I just let slide by during that time. It helped that I got a big push in the form of someone (you know who you are) who contacted me and begged me to come back. This made me really stop and think about what is happening in my life and how I have (or have not) been reacting to events.

Things are happening in my life beyond my control, but I realize now that it has not helped me to just lay around having a pity party (which I had previously denied doing), surfing the internet or watching TV.  It’s frustrating not having transportation so I can go mall walking and it’s too hot outside to walk. So I decided on another form of mental therapy – crochet.

I haven’t crocheted in more than 20 years. I used to crochet a lot, mostly afghans, but my skin got hypersensitive to the yarn dragging across my skin so I quit. It was actually a sister-in-law’s newly discovered prowess at crocheting that got me interested again. Since we just had one baby join the family and another is on the way, I have a reason to crochet something. Which means, after much practice to get my tension and gauge correct, my first two projects are baby blankets. When I finish my first one, I’ll post a picture.

I think my next projects will be beanies for preemies and lapghans for the nursing home.

preemie beanies

In the meantime, thanks to all of my followers and those who have liked my posts, for staying with me and for being my blogging friends. I promise to make a more concerted effort to not drop off the map again.

Now, back to my crochet project.

 

9 thoughts on “Beneath the Fog

    • Thank you, Alyssa. It really is nice to know that my absence was noted and missed. As to the crocheting skills, it’s easy enough to learn, especially with all of the excellent video tutorials available on YouTube. But then you would face the additional challenge of keeping the hooks, yarn and projects out of Lily’s sweet little hands. Not to mention storage space for the yarn once you get hooked. Do you Pinterest?

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Lapghans! What a beautiful word for them!!! Well, we’re all entitled to have a funk now and then. Wish you wold have mentioned it. I would have brought you some stuff over from my pity part closet! I keep it well-stocked! 😀 Welcome back!

    Liked by 1 person

Make my day; share your thoughts

