Better Late Than Never

I'm LateI bet y’all thought I had dropped off the face of the earth again, huh? Not so, I’ve just been busier than a one-armed paper hanger. When I last wrote, I mentioned that I was working on my first crochet project in at leat 20 years — a baby blanket for the soon-to-be newest addition to our growing family.

I finally finished it last night – two weeks after the baby shower.  So now I am able to keep a date with all of you for SoCS.

While crocheting provides a form of therapy, this first project was also very frustrating. I thought starting the project two weeks before the shower would be more than enough time to complete it. I was having difficulty mastering the pattern I wanted to use, so I switched to a different pattern. Then Murphy paid me a visit.

Ten rows to go and I discovered I wasn’t going to have enough yarn to complete that pattern. So I ripped it all out, rewound the yarn and tried again with the original pattern I wanted. I finally figured out what I was doing wrong and mastered it, but not in time to have it ready for the baby shower.

Once I mastered the pattern, I had difficulty with my stitch tension. When I was young, using an aluminum hook was no problem. But as I’ve aged, and arthritis and muscle issues have set in, it’s not quite as easy to maintain a good grip on an aluminum hook. I was only a third of the way through this time, though, when I ripped it out again and waited for the arrival of the set of ergonomic hooks I ordered.

Those ergonomic hooks really made a difference. It was much easier to maintain the proper tension. It took me a little over a week to complete the baby blanket, but it’s finally done. It’s actually in the wash as I write this. I love working with variegated  and mosaic yarns. I think it turned out okay.

2016-08-20 14.43.33

Made with Lion Brand Ice Cream Big Scoop yarn in Spumoni.

I’m going to give myself a break for a couple of days before I start the next baby blanket for another new family member who is already here. I’m going to try a different pattern and hope I don’t have to go through the same process again.

This post is part of SoCSSoCS badge 2016-17

 

2 thoughts on “Better Late Than Never

  1. Only a week when you finally caught on? That’s pretty yarn, I mean darn, fast! I think sometimes we need to learn to rely on muscle memory. I tat. I will get a bug and tat tat away for weeks then put it up for years. When I do pick it up again I can NEVER remember how to start out. I finally figured out I just have to close my eyes and let my hands do it. It’s kind of weirdly amazing, actually. 🙂 And the blanket is beautiful, btw. Love the colors! So fruity!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I’m taking it to my niece tomorrow and hope she likes it as well. I couldn’t begin to see well enough to tat. As to crocheting, I could remember how to chain, how to hold my yarn, and the basic stitches, but this pattern was something new to me. I’m glad you liked the results.

      Liked by 1 person

Make my day; share your thoughts

