Make Love, Not Hate

Revolution_JFKI grew up in an era when mothers didn’t have to worry about their children playing outside, even after dark. When neighbors gathered together for block parties. When nobody worried over much about leaving a door unlocked, whether to their home or car. When you could sit on your porch without having to worry about a drive-by shooting. I’m not saying it was idyllic, but things were simpler.

Although I missed the civil rights movement and most of the hippie era, I’ve witnessed the gradual disintegration of that lifestyle. And last week’s violence has left me badly shaken. It’s taken me several days to write this post, though, because I didn’t want to write in the heat of the moment as so many have. So I did some research in the hopes of ¬†gaining a better understanding of events, particularly over the last decade.

 

 

Make my day; share your thoughts

